Adoor Gopalakrishnan’s Kalamadalam Gopi documentary (Kathakali)

Thanks kasu! (minaiminai)

Part 1

Part II

Part III

Part IV

Part V

About rameshram

Name : Ramesh Ram... Email Address : Cdrakenc@gmail.com (don't even ask) Blog: (never updated) http://ramesh.journalspace.com Height/ Weight: 6'1 175 (varies between 160 and 185) Color of hair/ eyes black/ brown Bald? Nope (not yet, but give me 20 years.) Interests: Film (Bollywood/international indie), Travel (Germany/Japan/Central America/Sout/east/west Asia/ Northern Africa), Gizmo geek, Clubbing... What do I like in a good movie?: Women, Music, Auters, Special effects, Style. What do I like in a bad movie?: Women, Music, Auters, Special effects, Style. Favorite Critic: International: Bazin Domestic: J Hobermann Indian : me. (noone else comes close ...India or here..) Best quality: Humility. Outspokenness. Warmth Worst quality: Intolerence Favorite color : Yellow Black Blue Favorite Perfume : men: Grey Flannel(Geoffery Beene) Women: Celine dion: Obsession Boxers / briefs : Boxers Did I inhale: And how! Author: Marquiz, Rushdie, Murakami, Jong Last Book: The Ethical Slut by Dossie Easton, Catherine A. Liszt Music : Patricia Kass, Alejandro Sanz,Nina Simone, Amir Diab Sports person: uh..me? What am I usually in : White briefs and tees. Chianti or Burgandy: Chianti Food: French Japanese(street/fast food). Saw and liked: No Country for old men, Lust Caution Saw and disliked: Nishabd Didnt see: Aaja Nach le. Call me: Write me first.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Adoor Gopalakrishnan’s Kalamadalam Gopi documentary (Kathakali)

  1. Karigai says:

    Wow, the video of part I surely takes the Make Up (pan)cake… talk about putting the “labor” in “collaboration”! Truly amazing to watch.

    I think it takes a certain sensibility (of say someone who’s steeped in the performance arts) to fully appreciate what this documentary so eloquently captures/conveys, but that doesn’t mean laypeople (like me) can’t revel in the larger-than-life-ness of these performances, while fondly recalling gawking at Kathakali shows on DD, as kids (when simple things like stoicism, poignancy and patience — painted in every available shade of romance! — seemed like concepts too high-minded for us to grasp).

    Great that these videos came with subtitles (I don’t follow mallu all that well), speaking of which, did you catch Enthiran? @@@ rest of the content censored by blog writer from not wanting **that** film enter my blog. @@@

  2. rameshram says:

    katigai

    any talk of enthiran on my blog will get you severely censored and censured.

    • karigai says:

      Unga kovam puriyardhu. If you don’t want me to talk about E (kosu, etc) over here, you can simply say so (poo parikka edhukku saar godali? lol). In any case, censored, censured ellaam enakku so sagajam such threats are unlikely to send shivers down my spine.

  3. cram says:

    hi ramesh

    glad to see my youtube uploads being embedded here. thanks for spreading the word.

  4. Thanks for these videos. Salutes.

  5. I shared the same in F/B and google buzz.

  6. raguks says:

    Dear Shri Rameshram,
    Thank you for this video. I came to know that Adoor has created a documentary on Yakshagana in 1979 as well. Do you have access to it or have more information about it ? You may already know that Yakshagana is an art in Karnataka and is similar to Kathakali in some ways. Thanks to the subtitle I am able to follow.

    Regards
    Ragu Kattinakere
    http://www.yakshamitra.tk

    • rameshram says:

      My friend minai (cinemanrityagharana.blogspot.com ) has posted a doc on Mohiniattam, although I haven’t seen the yakshaganam one yet.

Leave a Reply

